Thankfully, I cannot subtract.

Leave a comment

March 25, 2010 by Nicole

Due to a subtraction error, I was happy to discover that free money appeared while balancing my checkbook today.  I was likewise happy to discover that my trip fund was 82 cents more that I thought it was.  So after wandering around the house, emptying coat/pants pockets, and discovering odd pennies, nickels, dimes, and quarters that have been hiding out in various nooks and crannies of my home, my trip fund has nearly doubled! I wonder if this is an answer to my prayer?

This got me to thinking about something I read awhile ago; I believe it was part of C.S. Lewis The Screwtape Letters.  I remember reading something to the effect that the devil can mess with people’s attitudes toward God and prayer; people are ready to blame God when their prayers are not answered in a way that they like, and that when God does answer people’s prayers, people attribute it to good luck, coincidence, etc. 

I found this to be very interesting, because I wonder how vigilant people are when prayers are answered in subtle ways–i.e. $14.16.   I was listening to Rick Warren reading his book The Purpose Driven Life last night on my iPod while I was driving home from school, and he spoke about how God loves people’s little acts of worship–words of kindness, going out of your way to help someone even when you’re tired, and so on–just as much, and sometimes even moreso, than the big acts.  So I wondered, perhaps it works both ways? While $14.16 is not as flashy as finding a hundred dollar bill on the sidewalk and might only go as far as purchasing me a postcard and a snack, it’s still $14.16 I didn’t have a few days ago.  I guess Rick Warren has a good point; your relationship with God is only as close as you want it to be, and you have to work at that relationship. For some of us, that means looking at the small blessings that we otherwise take for granted.

Dear God, thanks for the $14.16.  Also, continue to help me know that you’re in this with me; I’m sorry for when I have ignored, overlooked, or taken for granted the little things that you’ve done while waiting around to be impressed by bigger things. I will work on getting better at appreciating you. Amen.

Money in the bank today: $28.31

Leave a Reply

