I wonder if I’ll be up for an Oscar…

Leave a comment

March 29, 2010 by Nicole

Well, no, not really.  But I finally got my video uploaded and embedded in my blog, and I was so happy that it turned out as well as it did! 

Making this little 5 minute video was a lesson in patience; all told, I think it took me about 2 hours per minute of video.  In the process of making my little movie, I discovered that it is easy to lose perspective on what you’re doing, and about half way through, you begin to wonder if there is actually any end in sight. You get irritated, then irked, then frustrated and so on and so forth about transitions and effects not working right, trying to learn as you go, trying the same thing four different ways only to discover that the first way you did it was actually what you really wanted all along. The only frame of reference you actually have is the low resolution “rough draft” to watch until 10 hours later, when you have finally earned the privledge of clicking on the [Make Movie] tab and turning it into a video.

It occurs to me now why patience, of which I have very little at times,  is a virtue.  You can ask my husband how many times I started something with the best of intentions and the hopes of doing aomething “big,” and how many times I actually stick with or complete what I started (namely hobbies, gadgets and computer soft/hardware, etc. etc.).  I think that I have learned from this experience that there is a difference between passively being patient and “waiting patiently.”  Being patient, especially in the spiritual sense of the word, does not mean to just sit around and wait for something to happen.  Like Morgan Freeman says in Bruce Almighty, when you pray for patience, God gives you an opportunity to practice patience.  And, as I look at those words, I realize that you can’t practice by doing nothing. Huh.

Dear God, thanks for helping me finish what I started, and for making it look so nice.  I know it’s not Avatar, but I feel like I accomplished something. 🙂 Amen

Leave a Reply

