The flashy lives of other people

Leave a comment

May 27, 2010 by Nicole

It seems these days like so many people I know are travelling out of the country to all of these fabulous world destinations.  I am still waiting for my big voyage to get here. 

I think that in someways, seeing this person ready to take off for Europe, and that person ready to go to South America, reminds me that envy is always around the corner.  I begin to wonder why my life looks so boring in comparison, and then I wonder why I care.  I am married to a wonderful man, I have 4 dogs, and I am enjoying my life for the most part, so I wonder why I am, at times, a tad envious of other people’s lives and adentures.  Why I always compare myself to other people is really beyond me, since on most accounts, I have it pretty good.  But that has always been part of my problem; I always feel like I need to “measure up” to other people–like I need attention from other people to feel good about who I am.  I would be happier if I could learn to accept the fact that I am who God made me to be, and that even the little things that make me happy are sufficient. 

Dear God, please help me to love who I am and to appreciate what you gave me.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

