I am proud to be a FREAK show!

Leave a comment

January 29, 2011 by Nicole

I was compelled to say something regarding a post I came across on Facebook regarding Kirk Cameron.  What is so bad about being a “Jesus Freak?”  Now before I go any further, I am aware that this is a very sensitive subject.  So as not to be misunderstood, let it be known that I consider myself to be an accepting person.  I bear no ill will or malice towards people who are different from me, and I have neither knowingly nor deliberately treated or valued people differently because of their race, creed, sexual orientation, or religious beliefs.  And, as a committed Catholic married to a Baptist pastor, I can say that I understand, at least in a small way, what it is like to be target of of some people’s ignorance and intolerance.

What really angers me, however, is that with all of our talk about being a “tolerant” people, is that we seem to be able to be tolerant of anyone, as long as they are not outspoken Christians.  I find it interesting that Kirk Cameron, who became a born again Christian, inspires so much contempt in some people.  Why is it that we insist that tolerance is so important when we speak about our brothers and sisters whose faith is not connected to the Christian church, when we are willing to turn right back around and denounce Christians as though they are some type of blot on the fabric of our culture?

Sure, there are some Christians who do things that are appalling and reprehensible, and really saddens me to see how splintered God’s church has become.  But, there are also those of us who, by virtue of our faith, love the relationship we experience with God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit, and want to share that joyful, comforting message with others.  We try our best to love our neighbors as we love ourselves, to do what we would have done unto us, to exhibit to others the patience, kindness, forgiveness, and love that fundamentally binds us together.

If I have learned anything since becoming acquainted with and participating in the Paulist Fathers’ ministry, it’s that ecumenism is an important part of our Christian faith.  Maybe I am what some people call a  “Jesus Freak.”  Considering the alternative, that’s a pretty honorable title.  By definition, a freak is an ardent enthusiast–one who is obsessed with something.  If being obsessed with God and His values makes me a freak, what does that make people full of spite, contempt, arrogance? Normal?

No thanks; I’ll stick with being abnormally freaky. 🙂

Leave a Reply

