Here comes the money!

Leave a comment

February 3, 2011 by Nicole

Wow! This is such a big step forward.  I made a few phone calls and my trip money is on its way here!  I am really looking forward to getting all of the details taken care of, like getting the passport renewed–well, okay, so there aren’t actually that many little details. 🙂 People who know me well know that I love to make up little details to take care of when I plan my vacation (Oooh…I really should get a smaller suitcase…)The most exciting part is that the trip now goes from being something I am thinking about to an actual reality.

Now that I’ve come this far, I need to start thinking about how to prepare for this pilgrimage.  It’s a bit daunting to think that this is a huge undertaking, and it got me to thinking about all of the little things that go through your head as you get ready to make a trip.  You think about preparations like whether you need to purchase new clothes, if your suitcase is big enough, if you have enough spending money, etc.  But it also occurs to me that with as much time and effort as I have put into packing and shopping for any trip I have ever taken, the purpose of this trip is quite different.  I’m not just “going on vacation” this time around.  Besides, if that’s all it was, France would not be first on my list of places to go (my apologies to anyone reading this who loves France or who is French–I have had a lot of bad experiences in France in the past. ).

If you’ll pardon the really corny metaphor, I think that I need to work harder on packing my spiritual bags, so-to-speak.  Confession was a good first step in the right direction.  Now what? Do I read a book or something? Pray some rosaries? Order the Rosetta Stone in French? I am not entirely proud to admit that this aspect of my journey has been neglected.

I believe, if what I hear about this type of Pilgrimage is true, that you hear a call to go [Check] and you answer it [Check], but now what?  Is there something else that “happens?”  Do you get another set of instructions telling you what you need to do next, a la The Amazing Race?  I guess that remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

