“Heeeere’s yer sign…”

Leave a comment

February 18, 2011 by Nicole

Three of my favorite commedians are Jim Gaffigan, Jeff Dunham, and Bill Engvall.  Bill Engvall in particular never fails to make me laugh–especially when he gets to the part of his act when he talks about how stupid people should wear signs.  Now granted, I would never say that Christians are stupid, but I would say that many of us, myself included, aren’t always very smart or bright about certain aspects of our faith.  In fact, knowing that we are made in God’s image means that He endowed in us a fine sense of humor and that He undoubtedly laughs at the things we do from time to time.

This got me to wondering. Does God ever roll his eyes, shake his head and grin, look at us and go “Here’s your sign!” ?  I mean, not in a mean, sarcastic way (he is God, after all), but in a good-natured way?  I got to wondering this very thing in the last few days.  It occurs to me that there have been times I have prayed about something and asked God to give me a sign.  And sometimes I think he literally does just that–He literally gives me a sign.

Like just last week, while driving home on M 21 from Grand Rapids (which, incidentally, was the day after the whole army announcement fiasco), I was in the middle of a particularly grouchy mood and looked up to notice an American Red Cross Billboard: “Turn heartbreak into hope.” So I think, Ha ha, very funny. Then not just a few minutes later as I am passing through Lowell, I happen to glance over at the side of the road and see a sign out in front of a church: “Faith is not about feelings or answers; it is about trust in God.”

And then to top it all off, it is one of those extremely rare days that I happen to be listening to the local Christian music station, and on comes this new song by Mandisa: “Stronger.”  When the waves are taking you under, hold on just a little bit longer. He knows that this is gonna make you stronger. This pain ain’t gonna last forever, and things can only get better.  Believe me, this is gonna make you stronger. No kidding.

Dear God: I would say that you are cheeky, but I don’t think cheeky is the right word to describe you.  I will say, however, that I’ll bet you think you are being very clever with your very witty point. Touche.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

